Nissan Primera Owners Club Nissan Primera Owners Club > General Open Forums - NO TRADING! > Nissan Primera Help & Queries
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nissan Primera P12 2.2 diesel vacuum pump

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
NPOC Guest
NPOC Guest

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote patjfcorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nissan Primera P12 2.2 diesel vacuum pump
    Posted: 03 Apr 2011 at 9:25pm
hi there all

I am new to nissan cars and obviously new to this excellently supported forum. I recently purchase what i thought initially was agood value 2002 primera 2.2 diesel. after a week i noticed noise from top right hand side of engine, soon after on way home from work i lost my brakes, anyways it turned out to be vacuum pump. i had to purhcase a secondhand pump and a further kit. however when the mechanic put the pump in, jacked up the car, turned the front wheel, he noticed that wheel and subsequent engine came to a halt. now he has to further strip the engine. anyone any ideas ?
renrut View Drop Down
NPOC Guest
NPOC Guest

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote renrut Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 2011 at 10:34am
Hi and welcome to NPOC!

Vacuum pump sits on the far end of the cam shaft which obviously could affect timing if something catastrophically failed but if you drove it after it must have been ok.

Think we might need a bigger explanation of the engine coming to a halt bit, i.e. what exactly happened.
Now enjoying wafty effortless power.
patjfcorrigan View Drop Down
NPOC Guest
NPOC Guest

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote patjfcorrigan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 2011 at 12:52pm
many thanks for reply