Nissan Primera Owners Club Nissan Primera Owners Club > General Open Forums - NO TRADING! > Nissan Primera Help & Queries
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nissan Primera P11 - Advice re breaking

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Banned
Banned

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote plymPRIM97 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nissan Primera P11 - Advice re breaking
    Posted: 14 Jan 2012 at 9:22am
Hi - per my id I have a 1997 P11 or rather my girlfriend does.  Shortly after she bought it and we realised it was so good and reliable I bought a 1998 P11.  Hers has done about 110k miles and is looking a bit tired and the clutch is now getting very "soft".  I am anticipating that bills will start to crop up soon so want to give her my 1998 and break hers for parts all of which fit the 1998 model. 

I am looking for some advice if I may.  I am not good with tools but reckon I can get the radiator, battery, starter motor, alternator, ignition coils and leads off all fairly easily.   What else do you reckon I can easily remove and would have value?  I think I read about wheel bearings being a slight weakness so I could try and take off the entire hub assemblies.

Once I've reduced it to this point I don't know what I could do with what remains and whether I'd get any scrap value.  I guess the engine itself would be worth no more as an engine than as scrap.

If anyone fancies a weekend of banging and hammering sometime in the next couple of months - either in Plymouth or West Essex I'd be happy to keep them topped up with coffee and bacon sarnies.

In summary I think the var might be worth more as spares to me than trying to sell.  These things only fetch £300 or so with 110k miles per ebay I reckon.

Regards and thanks for your interest
Grim View Drop Down
NPOC Elite Member
NPOC Elite Member

r1pp3R