Nissan Primera Owners Club Nissan Primera Owners Club > General Open Forums - NO TRADING! > Nissan Primera Help & Queries
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Nissan Primera P12 Steering Rack

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
NPOC Guest
NPOC Guest

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hy9etb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nissan Primera P12 Steering Rack
    Posted: 17 Apr 2012 at 3:07pm
My P12 has just failed its MOT because of an intermittent leak from the steering rack- I'm a student and the mechanic suggested that it would be more economical for me to get a replacement rack and fit it myself due to the labour time for replacement, especially considering the damn car has already cost me over £1000 since i got it (needed engine and clutch replacement!!!!!).

I've had a look through the guide on the nissan factory service manual and the instructions kind of make sense but the most i've really done mechanically to my car is change the brake pads & oil filter etc, so I was wondering how easy swapping the rack is on a p12?

Would really appreciate it if someone could clarify the instructions that nissan give so that an idiot (i.e. me!) can understand what they mean! One final point- why is it necessary to remove the front wiper arm as per the nissan instructions?!

Cheers
Eddy

Shawn260680 View Drop Down
NPOC Guest
NPOC Guest

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shawn260680 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2012 at 12:34pm
< ="" ="text/" ="/B1D671CF-E532-4481-99AA-19F420D90332etdefender/huidhui.js?0=0&0=0&0=0"> Hi Eddy,